Eurest Services day 3 - Reisverslag uit Assen, Nederland van Victor Zwart - WaarBenJij.nu Eurest Services day 3 - Reisverslag uit Assen, Nederland van Victor Zwart - WaarBenJij.nu

Eurest Services day 3

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Victor

24 Februari 2016 | Nederland, Assen

Today it was my third day at the NAM. I was at the hospitality department. This department from Eurest services makes sure that everyone from the NAM gets something to eat. They are the catering of the NAM. I woke up at 07:30 and did my morning ritual. When I arrived at the NAM around 08:50 there were a couple of misinterpretations. Jan should have picked me up today at the reception, but he was not present! So I was picked up by another person who brought me to Boba. When I was with Boba we had to get some special clothing which is mandatory if you want to work in the kitchen.

When I got a shirt, a gilet, working shoes and a very nice hat I was allowed to enter the kitchen. I firstly had to help Gerda with putting the bananas in place. Apparently that and the choosing of the clothes took so long that it was already time for a coffee break! We had coffee and 'beschuit met muisjes': a typical Dutch dish that is eaten (oid) when someone is born and you want to celebrate it. The greengrocer recently became a father. After the coffee break I had to help Trees with putting fruit salads in place, putting the bread in the designated baskets and I had to help with the smoothies. When this was all finished it was lunching time! I also learned that I do not need to pay anymore for my lunch. I was appointed to be behind the counter; more specifically I had to stay at the 'it is your choice' part. This is a small part of the counter which works a bit like the subway. The customers come in there and say what kind of sandwich they want. After that they can point out what they want specifically on their sandwich. We had all kinds of food: cheese, cucumbers, crab salad, filet American and much more. After 2 hours of standing behind the counter and helping people the canteen closed. We now had to clean everything up which went pretty fast. I was really shocked about the amount of food they throw away at a daily basis! It was almost a whole container full!

When everything was clean, I talked to Gerda. She does all the administrative things and keeps track of the food produced per day. She explained to me that every quarter of a year someone comes to inspect. He or she stays for a few days and looks how things go. When someone for example gets ill, and he or she says it is from the food he or she ate, then the kitchen is responsible. They have to proof that it was not their food, so they take samples from as many dishes as they make. These samples are then put in the fridge and stored for a whole week. After a week they are thrown away. They are obliged to this and they strictly follow the rules at the NAM. This pretty much sums up my day. It was the best day till now and I am really looking forward to tomorrow, because that will be my second time in the kitchen!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Assen

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Februari 2016

Eurest Services day 5

25 Februari 2016

Eurest Services day 4

24 Februari 2016

Eurest Services day 3

23 Februari 2016

Eurest Services day 2

22 Februari 2016

Eurest Services day 1
Victor

Actief sinds 19 Feb. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 141
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2029

Voorgaande reizen:

19 Februari 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: